Select Page

If you live in a building that is stable or rent-controlled, there are laws that the landlord must comply with to increase the rent. If you live in an unregulated or market-compliant apartment, the landlord can increase your rent if you extend your rental agreement. However, you cannot violate the terms of your lease. Owners who violate the terms of a lease may be held liable. A lease is a contract, and if an owner violates the terms, he violates the contract. What options do you have if you don`t have a written lease? Does your landlord have the freedom to change the terms of your tenancy agreement, including rent, at any time? The city offers free legal advice to tenants who are about to be evacuated – call 311 or click here for more information. You can also hire a lawyer to represent you in the apartment court if your landlord harasses you or threatens to pay the costs. It is a complex subject, especially if you have an oral agreement, and having a lawyer by your side is an advantage. NYC residents know that there are many ways to rent an apartment or a house.

While most people have a written lease, this is not always the case. Sometimes owners use more informal methods, such as.B. an oral agreement. It is very common for landlords to harass tenants if they want them to move so that they can charge a new tenant a higher rent. Even if you have an oral lease, you still have rights. Harassment of tenants is illegal. Tenants` lawyer Sam Himmelstein says an oral agreement remains a binding agreement. Depending on your specific circumstances, your landlord should not simply increase their rent. But it is important to know how the law applies to your situation.

Syracuse retains an official definition of “reasonable” because it refers to the legal restitution of a tenant`s deposit. The State of New York interprets this regulation to mean that the owners give 2 weeks to issue a deposit. This policy is not interpretable. For more information, click here. Yonkers requires all homeowners to heat in intensive heating in certain parts of the year. The City Code imposes 68-degree F heating in all rooms from September 15 to May 31 each year. The official statement can be made here. New York state law prohibits lockouts, especially as a form of retaliation. It is not known if tenants can change the valves because they are not covered by New York law. New York Small Claims Court will hear rent disputes of up to $5,000, unless they are filed in a municipal or village court, in which case the limit is $3,000.